Not long till race day :-) !!!

Its not long till race day !!!

So after the Lab testing on the Saturday 15th me and my girlfriend were contemplating driving over the Cannock chase and ride some borrowed mountain bikes around for a while and then have a picnic as the weather was nice.

We decided that this was a good idea so we picked up the bikes from my parents and we were off.

Having never been to Cannock Chase previously so we decided to do one of the easier bike routes “the blue route” I don’t know what the red or black routes would have been like but holy Christ it was still quite hard considering, I didn’t realise how hard going up a steep hill on a mountain bike actually was and there were a lot of hills.

We eventually finished, had our picnic and realised that we had ridden 22 miles overall which is not bad going and reinforced how fit Aimee actually was as she powered past grown men on some of the climbs like they were standing still!! Lol

some snaps:

IMG_0649 IMG_0651IMG_0650IMG_0652

The rest of the days up till today have included:

Monday: 2.5k swim with my Dad – broke my 400m PB – now stands at 6.26 🙂

Tuesday: 5k run with 100m intervals

Wednesday: 1hr strength & Conditioning session at home

Thursday: 3K Endurance swim with drills

Friday: Rest

Saturday: Saturday was bike fit day!!

Went for a 2k swim in the morning and then had to be at SpeedHUB  in Lutterworth for 9am to meet with Tim Lewington to get a professional bike fit.

When I bought my bike I received a half price bike fit with Planet X and wasn’t overly impressed with the service and the actual fit, it turns out that because it was sold to me with my bike that the fit wasn’t a full fit!!

After going through my goals, previous injuries, the fact that my right leg is 5mm longer than the other and the races I have this season, I was on the bike pedalling at 70% with loads of sticky Velcro labels attached to various areas on one side of my body (what a picture) it quickly became clear that the bike fit at Planet X was terrible as most of the data that was supposed to be showing as green was actually in red on the Retul system… Tut Tut Tut…

After the session had finished and Tim had been through everything with me in detail I did the same 70% pedalling exercise and instantly felt more comfortable. The overall experience and service was brilliant and I couldn’t recommend it more to anyone.   The main thing that you would need to know about Tim is the fact that he is a triathlete himself and has qualified for the Ironman 70.3 World Champs twice!! So is perfectly qualified to go through the process with you.

Straight afterwards I went and did 4 hill repeats at Merevale Hill and then did a run up the same hill to test the run legs after the bike which wasn’t great as I hadn’t eaten and instantly got a stitch, oh well.

Sunday: this consisted of a day of house work and no exercise 😦

Monday: back to swimming and a 2k steady swim

Tuesday: strength & Core work (mostly doing the “sally up push up challenge”)

Wednesday:  BRICK – 45 minute turbo session & 3k short run at race pace (felt good)

Today: will be a steady swim of around 3k

So that is around 14 hours of solid training since last Sunday which isn’t bad but will need to increase during the May – July then start tapering until Wiesbaden in August.

Only 3 days left until East Leake Triathlon and I feel so excited and ready for the first race of the season.

My goal for the race is to be in the top 60 out of 400 which will be a big jump in comparison to previous races last year.

I cannot wait!!!

 

9 responses to “Not long till race day :-) !!!

  1. ……oh and good luck on Sunday!!

  2. Nice post. I have just bought a Planet X bike and chose not to use their bike fit service (their service generally was terrible). I am having a fit next week by a local coach with 25 years of tri experience including Ironman and several years a Team GB level. You are so right. I would much prefer to have someone who has been there and done it fit my bike than a computer!!!

  3. Good luck. Here’s hoping you smash it!

Leave a comment